

## **DIVISION OFFICE**

129 - 4th Ave SW, Suite 300, PO Box 5700 High River, AB TIV M17 T: 403.652.3001 | F: 403.652.4204 foothillsschooldivision.ca

Superintendent of Schools Christopher Fuzessy
Board Chair Theresa Letendre - Ward 3
Vice Chair Lisa Penzo - Ward 4
Jack Molyneux - Ward 1
John Evans - Ward 2
Sharon Nichols - Ward 4
Phil Irwin - Ward 5

February 1, 2024

Honourable Demetrios Nicolaides Minister of Education 228 Legislature Building 10800 - 97 Avenue Edmonton, AB T5K 2B6

RE: Support for Wolf Creek Public Schools Letter: 'Complaint Process to the Commission' (Oct. 2023)

Dear Minister Nicolaides,

On behalf of the Foothills School Division Board of Trustees, I am writing to you today requesting renewed focus on the concerns highlighted in the letter dated October 23, 2023, from Luci Henry, Chair of the Wolf Creek School Division Board of Trustees.

As we mark one year under the 'new' complaint process facilitated by the Alberta Teaching Profession Commission, the FSD Board of Trustees is reiterating the call for a reconsideration of this process. FSD shares the original concerns outlined by the Wolf Creek School Division including; the ease and lack of transparency around filing a complaint, the absence of a timeline if a matter has been referred to investigation, the apparent overlap in oversight – specifically, the incidents of concurrent investigations at School Division and Provincial levels, and finally the steadily accumulating financial cost since the complaint process came into effect in 2023. While we recognize the underlying intention to improve accountability and streamline processes, it is important to note that there remain several consequences – unintended or not, affecting students and staff in schools across the province.

In light of your mandate letter from Premier Smith, which emphasizes the exploration of "...incentives to support the recruitment and retention of teachers, educational assistants and support staff...", the Foothills School Division Board of Trustees reaffirms our support for Wolf Creek School Division's call for a comprehensive review of this process as a review is essential to

implementing corrective measures that prioritize the dignified, humane, and professional treatment of staff.

Thank you for your attention and consideration. We await your response.

Sincerely,

Theresa Letendre

Board Chair, Board of Trustees | Ward 3 Foothills School Division

There Lefendre.

Cc: Board Chair Luci Henry, Wolf Creek School Division

Dr. Christopher Fuzessy, Foothills School Division Superintendent

MLAs for Foothills School Division

Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA)