

DIVISION OFFICE 129 - 4th Ave SW, Suite 300, PO Box 5700 High River, AB TIV M17 T: 403.652.3001 | F: 403.652.4204 foothillsschooldivision.ca

Superintendent of Schools Christopher Fuzessy Board Chair Theresa Letendre - Ward 3 Vice Chair Lisa Penzo - Ward 4 Jack Molyneux - Ward 1 John Evans - Ward 2 Sharon Nichols - Ward 4 Phil Irwin - Ward 5

October 21, 2024

Honourable Demetrios Nicolaides, Minister of Education 228 Legislature Building 10800 - 97 Avenue Edmonton, AB, T5K 2B6 Email: education.minister@gov.ab.ca

RE: Support for Livingstone-Range School Division: Alberta Teaching Profession Commission (ATPC) (Oct. 8, 2024)

Dear Minister Nicolaides,

On behalf of the Foothills School Division (FSD) Board of Trustees, I am writing to you today to add our support to the October 8, 2024, letter from Livingstone Range School Division's Board of Trustees, Board Chair Lori Hodges.

As we enter the second year of the complaint process facilitated by the Alberta Teaching Profession Commission, the FSD Board of Trustees would like to express our support for the 3 suggestions put forth by Livingstone Range.

Firstly, our Board agrees that ensuring allegations are appropriately assessed at the outset is crucial. A more thorough initial review would prevent unnecessary investigations and reduce undue stress on educators, which is essential for maintaining a fair and balanced system.

Secondly, we agree that the timelines for investigations need to be addressed. Prolonged investigations can disrupt both personal and professional lives, and in a time when we are facing a shortage of qualified teachers, it's important that we minimize any barriers to employment and retention.

Finally, our Board supports the recommendations regarding the appeals process. Requiring full engagement from complainants during the initial investigation, along with a reasonable fee structure, would help prevent misuse of the system while preserving access for legitimate claims.

By implementing these changes, we believe the Alberta Teaching Profession Commission would become a more efficient and just system, allowing our educators to focus on what matters most—student success.

Thank you for your attention and consideration.

Sincerely,

There he ferdre.

Theresa Letendre

Board Chair, Board of Trustees | Ward 3 Foothills School Division

Cc: Julia Sproule, Commissioner of Alberta Teaching Profession Commission Lori Hodges, Board Chair, Livingstone Range School Division Dr. Christopher Fuzessy, Superintendent, Foothills School Division MLAs for Foothills School Division Marilyn Dennis, President, Alberta School Boards Association (ASBA)